Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo among best XI of European Super League players who could be BANNED from World Cup

LIONEL MESSI and Cristiano Ronaldo headline the best XI of players in the European Super League who are facing a World Cup ban.

Twelve of Europe's top clubs are leading a ring-fenced, closed-shop breakaway league with no relegation.

The Premier League's so-called 'Big Six' made up half of the 12 teams already signed up, with a £4.6billion pot backed by JP Morgan.

Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Inter Milan, AC Milan and Juventus are the remaining six at this stage.

Uefa and Fifa slammed the proposed plans and suggested the players involved in the ESL could be banned from international football.

That may mean many of the world's best players are expelled from World Cups and European Championships.

But who would get into the best XI from the 12 'founder' teams of the ESL?

Between the sticks there are plenty of candidates with Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Ederson and Alisson in with a shout but Jan Oblak is arguably the best of the bunch.

The Atletico Madrid and Slovenia stopper has been in fine form since moving to the LaLiga side in 2014.

A back three includes Real Madrid skipper Sergio Ramos, £75million Liverpool hero Virgil van Dijk and Juventus star Matthijs de Ligt.



  • Big Six English clubs sign up for breakaway league
  • How the new £4bn Super League would work
  • Gary Neville wants Liverpool & Man Utd to be relegated
  • Boris Johnson will 'make sure' ESL doesn't go ahead
  • DAVE KIDD: Fans must act now and make stand against greedy owners

But there is no room for Ruben Dias, Raphael Varane or Harry Maguire.

An attacking midfield quartet is dominated by the Premier League.

Manchester City pair Kevin De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling are joined by Liverpool's main man Mo Salah and Manchester United's current hero Bruno Fernandes.

Messi and Ronaldo – with 11 Ballons d'Or between them – line up in attack in this all-star team… but may end their careers failing to lead their countries to World Cup glory.

And it is Harry Kane who gets the nod as the No9 leading the line, with Romelu Lukaku missing out.

There are, of course, still plenty of top players missing out including French World Cup winners Paul Pogba, N'Golo Kante and Antoine Griezmann.

Rising English stars Phil Foden, Bukayo Saka and Mason Mount join Trent Alexander-Arnold and Marcus Rashford on the sidelines.

Read our Football live blog for the very latest news from around the grounds

    Source: Read Full Article