The 26 countries Brits are STILL banned from entering due to Covid rules

WHILE many countries are easing restrictions for Brits hoping to travel abroad – some countries still have strict rules in place.

Covid travel rules are still preventing Brits from entering 26 countries around the world.

We've rounded up the countries which have banned Brits, or are forcing UK arrivals into long quarantines when they get there.


Entry and exit at Benin border crossings is limited to 'extreme necessity', according to the UK foreign office.


Bhutan's borders are closed to all foreign nationals, including Brits.

The Bhutan government has not yet specified when the country will reopen to foreign visitors.


Entry to Brunei is severely restricted.

On December 14, Brunei announced Brits would be permitted to enter the country for non-essential travel.

However, that was scrapped on December 22 due to the spread of Omicron in the UK.

Foreign nationals can only enter Brunei for essential travel.


Brits can enter Chile, but need proof of vaccination which must be validated by the Chilean government – which can take up to 30 days.


The Chinese authorities have suspended all direct flights from the UK.

It is yet to be announced when this rule will be reviewed.

Falkland Islands

Tourists are not permitted to visit the Falkland Islands, including via cruise vessels.

Friends of residents can visit if they are sponsored by an island resident who is present in the Falklands at the time of arrival.

They will be subject to quarantine for up to 10 days.

Hong Kong

Travellers who have visited the UK within the past 14 days are not allowed to enter Hong Kong.

Most read in News Travel


The big change to Greece holidays in time for Easter


My boyfriend upgraded his plane seat to first class and left me in economy


Huge change to Covid restrictions on Spain's Canary Islands from TODAY


Inside the new UK city – home to beaches, theme park and longest pleasure pier


Brits who do not have existing resident status are not permitted to enter Japan for any purpose, other an in exceptional circumstances.

Brits with residence in Japan will be denied entry if they are travelling from some African countries.


Entry to Malaysia for Brits is prohibited.

Some exemptions may apply, including Brits with permanent resident status and those married to Malaysian nationals.


Only Singapore citizens and permanent residents can enter Singapore without prior permission.

South Korea

Brits can travel to South Korea, but must quarantine for seven days on arrival.


Taiwanese authorities have announced a temporary ban on foreign nationals entering the country.

Exceptions apply to foreign spouses of Taiwanese nationals, international students and researchers.


Vietnam has suspended entry into the country for all foreign nationals.

Read more on The Sun


Adele 'storms stage' at London nightclub Heaven and drives crowd wild POLE dancing

cat calls

Watford fans sing 'That's how your cat feels' to Zouma as star is fouled


Watch Ronaldo's 'accidental' Instagram live video as Man Utd ace sits in sauna

ARG’s 999 DASH

Ambulance called to James Argent's Essex home after terrified pals call 999

There are a small number of exceptions for certain highly skilled workers, which will be processed on a case by case basis.

Here are the other countries which have banned tourists due to Covid right now:

  • Cook Islands
  • Eritrea
  • Iran
  • Laos
  • Macao
  • Madagascar
  • Myanmar
  • Nauru
  • Niger
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn Island
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan

It's not all bad news – vaccinated Brits can enter 53 countries without needing to take a single Covid test.

Passenger Locator Forms are expected to be ditched before the Easter holidays, making it easier for Brits returning from a holiday.

    Source: Read Full Article