Red list countries: Full list of holiday destinations under travel ban

THE GOVERNMENT have confirmed the list of countries where Brits can go on holiday from May 17, with Portugal, Israel and Iceland on the 12-strong green list.

But which counties are you NOT allowed to travel to in the coming months?

🔵 Read our coronavirus and green list announcement live blog for the latest updates

Which countries are on the red list?

The countries on the red list are as follows:

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Brazil
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Ethiopia
  • Eswatini
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • Somalia
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Turkey
  • UAE
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

What are the red list travel rules?

People travelling to the UK from red list countries will have to quarantine in a specialist hotel on arrival.

A mandatory 10-day stay in one of these hotels will cost travellers £1,750 each.

If passengers leave the quarantine hotel before their 10 days are up, they will be handed a £5,000 coronavirus fine, but this figure can increase up to £10,000.

Travellers coming into England from the red list countries have to book a stay at a quarantine hotel through an online booking platform.

An individual travelling alone will have to pay £1,750 for their ten-day stay, which includes the cost of the hotel, transport from the airport and testing.

However, a second person sharing a room will pay £650, making the total £2,400 for two. The rate for children will be £325.

Passengers are only be able to enter through small number of ports, and they will then be escorted to select hotels that will be closed to general members of the public.

Guests remain in their rooms and not mix with anyone else, with visible security in place.

In addition to their negative Covid test before arrival into England, they then have to take a second and third test on day two and day eight after they enter the country.

When is the next green list travel update?

The next review is set to take place on May 28 – three weeks today.

But there is no guarantee more countries will be added to the list – and there is every chance some may be taken off.

Announcing the most recent update on May 7, transport secretary Grant Shapps said: "I have to be absolutely straight with you. Our success in combating Covid here is not yet replicated in many places abroad."

    Source: Read Full Article