Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya, and Bangladesh added to UK travel ban Red List over South Africa and Brazil variant fears

TRAVEL BANS will now be in place for visitors from four more countries as they are placed on England's red list.

International travellers from the Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh will be refused entry into England from 4am on Friday, April 9.

🦠 Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates

Only people with British and Irish citizenship – or residence rights in the UK – will be allowed to enter England from next Friday.

But Brits who do arrive from these countries will be required to self-isolate in a government-approved hotel quarantine facility for 10 days.

They will also be required to take a coronavirus test on day two and day eight – and they will NOT be allowed to shorten their quarantine period if they get a negative test result.

Full list of red list travel ban countries from April 9

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh have have joined England's red list to protect the country against new variants of Covid.

They join the other 35 countries on the red list – which includes the UAE, South American and nations in South Africa.

The refusal to enter England includes if travellers departed from or transited through the four countries.

No direct flight bans from these countries will be put in place, but passengers are advised to check their travel plans before departing for England.

Kenya is facing a third wave with new lockdowns in place – including at the capital Nairobi, after recording more than 2,000 new daily cases last week.

This was the highest daily case toll for Kenya since the pandemic began.

The country has also kept its borders open with Tanzania -who are not documenting the majority of their Covid cases.

Earlier this month, Portugal and Mauritius were removed from the red list – as were Ethiopia, Oman, Qatar and Somalia.

More to follow…

For the latest news on this story keep checking back at Sun Online. is your go to destination for the best celebrity news, football news, real-life stories, jaw-dropping pictures and must-see video.

Download our fantastic, new and improved free App for the best ever Sun Online experience. For iPhone click here, for Android click here. 

Like us on Facebook at and follow us from our main Twitter account at @TheSun.

Source: Read Full Article