Facebook can allow you to turn off page if loved one dies or memorialise account

Closing or switching off someone's Facebook account when they die an be an emotional process.

But the images and content left by a loved one will continue after they die and can be a painful reminder of their lives.

Our social media accounts now hold so much information as a legacy of the person.

But what if you need to turn off someone else's social media account?

In Facebook switching off someone’s account is not the only option, it can also be memorialised.

If you want to remove a loved one’s account, you’ll need to prove you're an immediate family member or executor of the account holder.

Social networking bosses say the fastest way to do this is to scan and send their death certificate.

If you don’t have this, you can submit power of attorney, birth certificate, last will and testament or an estate letter as evidence.

According to The Mirror, you will also need an obituary and a memorial card which can be requested to Facebook via this link.

With so many photos stored on Facebook, you may not like the idea of deleting all of those precious memories.

But memorialising an account can turn an account into a place for family and friends to share and enjoy memories.

Once Facebook is told of an account holder’s passing, the word 'remembering' will show next to their name.

No-one will be allowed to log into their account and it won’t show in 'suggested friends' notifications and birthday reminders.

The account can be looked after by someone else providing they’ve been added as a legacy contact and given permission to manage the account.

Legacy contacts are able to write a pinned post for the memorialised profile, respond to new friend requests, and update the profile picture and cover photo.

You can send a memorialisation request here.

You can assign legacy contacts to manage your memorialised account after you're gone with the following steps:

Go to your settings under the Settings & Privacy tab

Click on memorialisation settings.

Type in a friend's name and then click add.

Let your friend know they're now your legacy contact by clicking send.

They will be notified if your account becomes memorialised.

You can also choose to have your account permanently deleted should you pass away.

And if someone informs Facebook of your death, all of your messages, photos, posts, comments, reactions and information will be removed permanently

For funeral notices in your area visit funeral-notices.co.uk

Source: Read Full Article