ALEKSANDAR MITROVIC saw his penalty goal against Newcastle ruled out following a rarely seen blunder.
After Fulham were awarded a penalty, Mitrovic stepped up to take the spot kick and dispatched it into the back of the net.
However, the goal was ruled out after the ball took a deflection off of his standing foot.
Under IFAB Law 14, which details penalty kicks, the rules state that an offence is deemed to have occurred if: "the kicker touches the ball again before it has touched another player."
Therefore, the Serbian's double touch from the spot had to be ruled out by referee Robert Jones.
Fans online were quick to react to the bizarre incident.
READ MORE IN FOOTBALL
Win a stunning Lamborghini or £110k alternative for just 89p with Sun discount code
Chelsea ANNOUNCE Mudryk signing mid-match after successful Arsenal hijack
One fan said: "Once a geordie always a geordie. Well done Mitro 🤣."
A second joked: "Still black and white at heart."
A third remarked: "This is an atrocious rule tbf. If he would of missed could he of retaken?"
Another fan declared: "Football will never fail to amaze you."
Most read in Football
Mudryk in London to seal INCREDIBLE Chelsea move as Gunners turn to Raphinha
Darlington footballer rushed to hospital with bleed on brain after collision
Palace to launch new bid for Gallagher as he struggles for Chelsea minutes
Alex Ferguson surrounded by Liverpool stars after they move into his street
HOW TO GET FREE BETS ON FOOTBALL
Newcastle took the lead late in the game thanks to Mitrovic's namesake, Alexander Isak, which secured all three points for the Magpies.
Eddie Howe and Co will be more than happy with another precious three points, but the clash today has seen key man Bruno Guimaraes go off in tears after getting injured.
Source: Read Full Article