Carabao Cup draw LIVE: Start time, live stream, how to watch and ball numbers for first-round draw | The Sun

THE CARABAO CUP 2022/23 campaign begins this week with the first round draw taking place TODAY.

Liverpool won the competition last season after a thrilling penalty shootout triumph over Chelsea in the final.

Premier League sides who are not competing in Europe go into the tournament in the second round, and the remaining Prem teams enter at the third round.

  • Start time: from 2.30pm
  • TV/live stream: Sky Sports News


  • Etienne Fermie

    Fleetwood Town vs Wigan Athletic

  • Etienne Fermie

    Port Vale vs Rotherham United

  • Etienne Fermie

    Shrewsbury Town vs Carlisle United

  • Etienne Fermie

    Huddersfield Town vs Preston North End

  • Etienne Fermie

    Doncaster Rovers vs Lincoln City

  • Etienne Fermie

    Rochdale vs Burton Albion

  • Etienne Fermie

    Bradford City vs Hull City

  • Etienne Fermie

    Middlesbrough vs Barnsley

  • Etienne Fermie

    Accrington Stanley vs Tranmere Rovers

  • Etienne Fermie

    Mansfield Town vs Derby County

  • Etienne Fermie

    Grimsby vs Crewe

  • Etienne Fermie

    Sheffield Wednesday vs Sunderland

  • Etienne Fermie

    West Brom vs Sheffield United

  • Etienne Fermie

    Here we go!

    It's the Northern section up first.

    Michael Dawson and Clinton Morrison will be doing the honours.

  • Etienne Fermie

    It's nearly time!

    Get ready to get planning for your club's first round clash everyone!

    The draw is now just moments away.

  • Etienne Fermie

    Dates to mark down

    Your Carabao Cup first round clashes will take place on August 9-10.

    Make sure you've got the evening off work to go and follow your team!

  • Etienne Fermie

    Balls to look out for

    Norwich City make a return to round one, following their Premier League relegation.

    The Canaries will appear in the Southern section, and are ball No22.

    Meanwhile, Stockport and Grimsby enter the competition after earning promotion to the EFL from the National League.

    Both are in the Northern section, with Stockport ball No31 and Grimsby No14.

  • Etienne Fermie

    Throwing it back

    Liverpool won't be in this afternoon's draw, but are reigning Carabao Cup champions.

    The Reds narrowly overcame Chelsea 11-10 on penalties in February's final following a tense 0-0 draw.

    Every outfield player scored from 12 yards for both teams, leaving it up to the goalkeepers.

    Caoimhin Kelleher bagged for the Reds, only for Kepa Arrizabalaga to memorably whack his spot kick over the bar.

  • Etienne Fermie

    More ball numbers!

    And here is the Southern section:

    • 1 AFC Wimbledon
    • 2 Birmingham City
    • 3 Bristol City
    • 4 Bristol Rovers
    • 5 Cambridge United
    • 6 Cardiff City
    • 7 Charlton Athletic
    • 8 Cheltenham Town
    • 9 Colchester United
    • 10 Coventry City
    • 11 Crawley Town
    • 12 Exeter City
    • 13 Forest Green Rovers
    • 14 Gillingham
    • 15 Ipswich Town
    • 16 Leyton Orient
    • 17 Luton Town
    • 18 Millwall
    • 19 Milton Keynes Dons
    • 20 Northampton Town
    • 21 Newport County
    • 22 Norwich City
    • 23 Oxford United
    • 24 Peterborough United
    • 25 Plymouth Argyle
    • 26 Portsmouth
    • 27 Queens Park Rangers
    • 28 Reading
    • 29 Stevenage
    • 30 Sutton United
    • 31 Swansea City
    • 32 Swindon Town
    • 33 Walsall
    • 34 Wycombe Wanderers

    Here are your ball numbers!

    We'll start with the Northern section:

    1. Accrington Stanley
    2. Barnsley
    3. Barrow
    4. Blackburn Rovers
    5. Blackpool
    6. Bolton Wanderers
    7. Bradford City
    8. Burton Albion
    9. Carlisle United
    10. Crewe Alexandra
    11. Derby County
    12. Doncaster Rovers
    13. Fleetwood Town
    14. Grimsby Town
    15. Harrogate Town
    16. Hartlepool United
    17. Huddersfield Town
    18. Hull City
    19. Lincoln City
    20. Mansfield Town
    21. Middlesbrough
    22. Morecambe
    23. Port Vale
    24. Preston North End
    25. Rochdale
    26. Rotherham United
    27. Salford City
    28. Sheffield United
    29. Sheffield Wednesday
    30. Shrewsbury Town
    31. Stockport County
    32. Stoke City
    33. Sunderland
    34. Tranmere Rovers
    35. West Bromwich Albion
    36. Wigan Athletic

    First round draw format

    So 70 teams have been separated into a Northern section and Southern section.

    Almost all EFL sides feature, with just Watford and Burnley receiving byes to round two.

    • Etienne Fermie

      It's draw time!

      Buckle in everyone!

      If this morning's EFL fixture release wasn't exciting enough for you, we've got the Carabao Cup first round draw to keep your pulses racing!

      Keep it here for all the build-up, before we get going at 2:30pm.

      Source: Read Full Article