WhatsApp could BLOCK you from screenshotting private chats

WhatsApp could BLOCK you from taking screenshots of private chats in its latest update

  • WhatsApp could be rolling out a new feature which could block screen shots
  • The app, owned by Facebook, is developing a fingerprint authentication feature 
  • This means that users will have to scan their fingerprint to access their chats
  • But enabling the feature means users will not be able to screenshot private chats

WhatsApp is working on an update that could stop users from being able to take screenshots in private chats.

The Facebook-owned messaging app is currently testing a new fingerprint feature meaning users could have to scan their fingerprint to access chats.

As a result, the tool will block screen shots from being captured if enabled, according to a blog post by WABetaInfo.

WABetaInfo, who look at beta versions of the app for clues about forthcoming features, shared a screenshot showing details of the update.

Scroll down for video 

WhatsApp is working on an update that could stop users from being able to take screenshots in private chats. The Facebook-owned messaging app is currently testing a new fingerprint feature meaning users could have to scan their fingerprint to access chats

The screenshot from the beta version shows the message that appears in WhatsApp when fingerprint security is switched on.

The alert said: ‘Fingerprint security – When enabled, fingerprint is required to open WhatsApp and conversation screenshots are blocked.

‘You can still reply to messages from notifications and answer calls if WhatsApp is locked.’

The feature will allow users to enable fingerprint authentication within WhatsApp, meaning users will have to scan their fingerprint to access their chats.  

‘We do not know why WhatsApp decided to prevent screenshots when fingerprint is enabled, and personally I don’t know if users like the idea,’ WABetaInfo wrote in the blog post.

The fingerprint authentication feature is still in the ‘alpha stage of development’, but will be available in future versions of WhatsApp for Android.

It is currently unknown when this feature will release full for Android users or if/when it will reach iPhone users. 

WhatsApp is regularly updated, meaning that new features are constantly being added. The new feature is not the only one they are testing. 

WhatsApp is also planning to roll out animated stickers, which will be included in WhatsApp sticker packs, alongside static options.  

Doodle UI allows users to edit photos by adding emojis and draw on them but the doodles were ‘inconsistent with the rest of the app’ because they were different to the characters within chats themselves.

 WABetaInfo, shared a screenshot from the beta version of the app, showing the message that appears in WhatsApp when fingerprint security is switched on. When enabled, fingerprint is required to open WhatsApp and conversation screenshots are blocked (file photo)

Earlier this month, the company released a statement that they will be releasing a new feature which stops people from automatically adding you to group chats.    

People will now be able to choose from three options in their settings from ‘nobody,’ ‘my contacts,’ or ‘everyone’. 

Until the update, once someone had your contact details they could add you to a group chat without your permission. 

Being added to a group chat could potentially expose your phone number to hundreds of people – a cause for privacy concerns. 

A spokesperson said at the time that the update was ‘a significant update for WhatsApp and a frequently requested feature that will limit abuse and keep people’s phone numbers private.’

HOW TO ACTIVATE THE NEW GROUPS OPTION

Make sure you have the updated version of WhatsApp on your phone.

Then you can choose from three options.

Picking ‘Everyone’ will let anyone add you to a group without asking you for permission.

Choosing ‘My Contacts’ will limit group-adding to people in your phone contacts – forcing everyone else to invite you first. 

Choosing ‘Nobody’ will require everyone to ask for your permission before you can be added to a group.

Source: Read Full Article

Error processing request